Home Business Group warns detractors, restates commitment to south south presidency

Group warns detractors, restates commitment to south south presidency


An advocacy group, South-South Presidency 2023 (SSP23), has warned leaders from the zone against presenting themselves for vice-presidency or any other position under any form of political arrangement, saying every Nigerian should focus on ensuring a South South presidency becomes a reality for the good of the country.

Rising from a 3-day meeting in Asaba, Delta State with delegates drawn from the six States of the geo-political zone, the group restated its commitment to the unity and peaceful co-existence of Nigeria.

In a communique made available to our reporter in Calabar, Thursday, the Group said its commitment to the emergence of a President of South-south extraction was unwavering, and therefore called on all other geopolitical zones of the country to concede the Presidency to the zone in 2023.

Signed by Princewill W. Igbagara, Rt. Hon. Olisa E. Imegwu and Barr. Idemudia llueminosen, the Communique said it noted “with dismay covert moves and actions by some southern leaders to trade off the Presidency for other positions in 2023.”

“This is in light of subterranean moves by some politicians in the South – South to present themselves as Vice Presidential candidates and National Chairmen of political parties. We are therefore advising such leaders to desist from such actions and stick to the Asaba and Lagos declarations by the Southern Governors and stakeholders,” it stated.

While commending President Muhammadu Buhari for showing concern for the development of the Niger Delta region, and especially the inauguration and successful completion of the forensic audit on the NDDC, SSP23 called on the President to “do the needful and inaugurate the Board of the NDDC for proper and effective administration of the agency.”

It also called on the people of the South South zone to embrace and participate in the ongoing Continuous Voters Registration exercise.

Some of the delegates who took part in the conference were Chief Diekivie lkiogha as Protem Chairman, Engr. Charles Udonwa from Akwa Ibom State, Hon. Indutimi Komonibo from Bayelsa State, and Hon Ekpeyong Eyamba from Cross River State.

Edo state was represented by Dr. Uwamose Amadasun, Delta by Jah’swill Onyemah Iwe while Hon. Elemchukwu Ogbowu was the Rivers State delegate in the conference.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here