Home News Early Results Show Cross River Defied PFN, Duke’s Directives, Voted for APC’s...

Early Results Show Cross River Defied PFN, Duke’s Directives, Voted for APC’s Otu


…Ayade Wins as Duke Loses Polling Unit

By Maynus Effiong

Early results from Saturday Governorship and House of Assembly elections in Cross River have indicated that the people opted to vote massively for the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Senator Prince Bassey Otu against the directives of the State Chapter of the Pentecostal Fellowship of Nigeria, PFN and former governor Donald Duke.

Recall that the PFN had, last week, called on its member Churches to cause their membership to vote for the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, Senator Sandy Onor, in the election.

Former governor of the State, Donald Duke had also called on the people to vote for PDP’s Sandy Onor, and described Otu as Gov Ben Ayade’s surrogate. 

However, Cross Riverians seemed to have given deaf ears to both PFN and Duke’s directives on Saturday. Interestingly, the former governor, lose his polling unit to the same Senator Otu with the following result: APC – 111, PDP – 54.

On the hand, Gov Ben Ayade, who lost out during the presidential and senatorial contests, came out strong as he won his Ipong ward for Prince Otu with 283 while Onor came a distant second with 11 votes and Labour Party, 10.

As at the time of this report, Otu had reportedly garnered 54,543 of votes collated while Onor was lurking with 37,018 votes. 

Other results in the public space, as captured  by our reporter go this way:

Asang Eniong Abatim Polling Unit in Odukpani, APC- 174, PDP- 19; Market Square, Mbube West 2,APC 67, PDP 37: Sen. Owan Enoh Agbokim Ward polling Unit result: APC=  224, PDP= 8; Russia playground polling unit result, Kakwagom Bawop Ward Boki, APC 132, PDP 61

Polling unit 34, Ward Six, Calabar Municipality, APC 139, PDP 52; Asang Eniong Polling Unit- APC 174, PDP 19, and Ikot Offiong Ebiti Polling Unit, APC 71, PDP 16,

Uyi Ikot Ekanem Polling Unit, APC 47, PDP 10; Odung Eniong Polling Unit, APC 18, PDP 9. Emorrow Play Ground, APC- 112 PDP- 48, Primary School Compound PU009, APC- 93, PDP 46.

Senator Otu had also reportedly won in eleven out the Cross River’s 18 local government areas.

Unconfirmed reports says Senator Bassey Otu is leading in Odukpani, Calabar South, Calabar Municipal, Akpabuyo, Bakassi, Biase, Obubra, Yakuur, Obudu, Ogoja and Yala. He is said to have done excellently well in Boki and Etung where the PDP candidate hails from.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here