Home Sports NCF/PwC National U17 Championship: Edo State Is South- South Champions Again

NCF/PwC National U17 Championship: Edo State Is South- South Champions Again


Edo State Champions receiving their trophy

By Akanimo Kufre

Edo state on Monday continued to show dominance in the cricket game as their U17 boys defeated Akwa Ibom state to emerge champions of the PwC National Cricket Championship.

Edo won toss and choose to bat thereby scoring 128 runs all out (128/10) in 27.5 overs. Akwa Ibom chased the target of 129 runs in the second inning but were stopped at 69 runs all out (69/10) by Edo intelligent fielders. Edo state defeated arch-rival Akwa ibom state by 67 runs. Unity Ogboe won the Player of the Match Award following his brilliance in bowling performance for Edo.

The 5 Day playoff between 5 states in the south south uncovered new upcoming stars distinguished themselves in the field of cricket. There were four categories of awards which edo state hauled 3 awards while Delta grabbed one.

Other high performing players like Godswill Effiong, Fortune Onofiok and Peter Prosper were rewarded with invitation into the South South team to play in the finals against other 5 zones at Abuja between 15th to 18th February 2024

Most Valuable Player.*
Unity Ogboe of Edo State.
•Batter of the Series.
Joseph Onoshagbe of Edo State.
•Bowler of the Series.
Godstime Prince Aye of Edo State.
•Fielder of the Series.
Dominion Joel of Delta.

Team of the Tournament/ Region.

  1. Godsent Agbi- Captain, Edo State
  2. Godswill Effiong- Vice Captain, Akwa Ibom State
  3. Joseph Onoshagbe- Edo State.
  4. Godstime Aye Prince- Edo State.
  5. Unity Ogboe- Edo State
  6. Joseph Omonkhobhio- Edo State.
  7. Progress Osagie- Edo State.
  8. Hossana Omonkhobhio – Edo State.
  9. Daniel Sunday- Akwa Ibom State.
  10. Fortune Onofiok- Akwa Ibom State.
  11. Kufre Jerome- Cross River.
  12. Joshi Ilesanmi- Cross River State.
  13. Peter Prosper- Delta State.
  14. Goodluck Gift- Rivers State.

Coach: Theophilus Adolphus Ibodeme
Team Manager: Patrick Eddidiong.

Nigeria Cricket Federation, (NCF) President, Mr. Uyi Akpata also decorated the five participating states with a set of 5 cricket bats each to encourage the grooming of the teenage teams.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here