Home Uncategorized Cross River Govt To Commence Emergency Intervention On Roads, Drainages In Calabar

Cross River Govt To Commence Emergency Intervention On Roads, Drainages In Calabar


Gov. Bassey Otu

Cross River state government will soon commence an emergency intervention works on roads and drainages in the Calabar metropolis. 

A press release by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Emmanuel Ogbeche, said the State Executive Council at its 17th meeting of 2023 on November 8, presided over by Governor Bassey Otu among others approved the rehabilitation of the Murtala Muhammed Highway and Ndidem Usang Iso road.

The Council also approved an emergency intervention and remediation works for the Marina Resort gully erosion and contract award for the refurbishing, remodelling and upgrade of the State Library complex, Calabar.  

Towards Government’s effort in improving the livelihood and productivity of the citizenry, Council granted approval for a N400 million  counterpart funding for the Agro-processing Productivity Enhancement and Livelihood Improvement Support (APPEALS) Project facilitated by the Ministry of International Donor Coordination. 

While an Executive Bill for the re-establishment of the State College of Agriculture and Forestry, Obubra, was also approved by Council for transmission to the State Legislature. 

It is expected that the re-establishment of the College is to boost availability of middle-level manpower in agriculture and forestry as well as assist in the State’s re-afforestation programme.

On gratuity, the Governor reiterated the government’s resolve to clear the backlog of unpaid gratuities owed retirees and emphasized that government cannot allow the aged sleep hungry or be unable to afford their medications. Consequently, funds are being sourced from the capital market to redeem the debts owed retirees by the government.

Meanwhile, the Council has ratified the composition of a 15 member State Policy Review Committee which comprises eminent personalities like

Ntufam Fidelis Ugbo as Chairman and Dr. Jake Otu Enyia as Secretary to review extant policies in order to ensure policies and plans align with the current trends and best practices.  

Other members include, Prof. Eyo Etim Nyong; Col. PAM Ogar (rtd); Mr. Dave Ashang; Dr. Fidelis Obo; Chief Patrick C. Okem; Mr. Bassey Kooffreh, mni; Mrs. Winifred Oyo-Ita; Mr. Sylvester Mgbe; Engr. Effiong Bassey; Dr. Julius Okputu; Mr. Gabriel Achong (CP rtd); Chief P. J. Ekunke and Dr. Ajah Ekwan Ajah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here